When I was younger, I wondered why the shopping carts of large places were left abandoned in parking spaces or on the side of the road.  I jokingly speculated that there were trolls that did it just to make others mad.  Of course, I knew that people were the real culprits; I just didn’t want to believe it.

As I see more shopping carts left abandoned, I have to face the reality that some people are just inconsiderate.

My OCD compels me to collect those carts and put them back where they belong.  I would even go across the street and walk the carts uphill.  It’s good exercise and, once in a while, I’ll get an appreciative “thank you” from an employee of the shopping center.  However, days later, those carts will wind up in a ditch or at the bus stop.  Once in a while, there will be a cart that would be broken, and I can’t do anything about it.

Just…why?

Why do people just leave these carts in places where they don’t belong?  The only thing I can think of is that they’re doing that just to be assholes.  In a sense, then, these shopping cart neglects are caused by trolls.

Be considerate:  please return shopping carts to their rightful places where they belong.

Leave a Reply

