So, what is Krav Maga?  This link will help explain:

http://www.kravmagainstitute.com/self-defense/what-is-krav-maga/

Then comes the next question:  why am I taking it?

I’ve got several things that make me a target for attack:

  • I’m short
  • I’m physically female
  • I travel alone most of the time
  • I’m transgender

The last point is the biggest one.  No one wants to believe it, but we transfolk are hate crime targets.  Many get injured, but some end in death, and it seems like the statistics are only getting higher.  I don’t want to be a part of that statistic.  However, my safety is not the only reason for taking Krav Maga.

In January 2017, one of my best friends was attacked and robbed while she was walking home from the bus stop.  She was shaken and had a large taser burn on her arm.  My coworkers and I were shocked, but some of us were also enraged.  There are people who are close to me in my life, and I want to protect them, too.

I started looking up martial arts that could be applied in real world scenarios.  The result that popped up most was Krav Maga.  I found a place that taught it and I began my weekly classes.  I’m still a beginner, and I have yet to learn more advanced techniques like disarming weapons, but I am slowly improving with each class.  The price is high ($89 a month for one class a week; the cheapest I could get), but I’m doing this so I can learn how to defend both myself and those close to me.

Should someone try to hurt or kill me, I will not go down without a fight.  I will show them that, despite how I appear physically, I am not someone to be messed with.

Leave a Reply

