I wanted to try to turn tofu into a savory dinner, and I thought a marinade would be the best way to go.  I mixed maple syrup, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar together and dipped the tofu slices in.  I pan fried the slices and sprinkled Italian spice on top.

The texture was good.  Like with the tofu French toast, it depends on how thick or thin you slice the tofu.  The tofu absorbed the marinade, but the aside from the Italian spice, it didn’t have any real taste.  I did press the tofu beforehand, as I do with all pan fried tofu, so that wasn’t what went wrong.  I think what went wrong was that I was supposed to let the tofu soak in the marinade for a long period of time instead of just dipping it like it was egg for the tofu French toast.

There really isn’t anything more to say about this.  The experiment wasn’t a disaster, but it wasn’t a success either.

Leave a Reply

