If there was one food that I missed having in Japan, it was curry.  Since I’ve moved on my own, I had started craving it.  I bought brand curry, but found out that it had gluten in it, so I had to toss them (painful for me, as I can’t stand throwing out food, even if it is curry paste).  This is what began my explorations into gluten free curry.  Unfortunately, as of right now, I can’t find the website that had the base recipe.

My first batch had lamb, soy sauce, chicken broth, purple potatoes, onions, carrots, chopped apples, garam masala, curry powder, balsamic vinegar, ketchup packets, and tapioca flour.  The lamb tasted alright, but the fat on it really dispersed into the mixture.  Potatoes and carrots were done right, but I later found out that potatoes aren’t paleo.  I must have needed more than 2 tsp of tapioca flour, as the roux wasn’t thick enough.  Apples were soft, so that was also good.  I added it on top of caulirice, but I found that it tasted a lot better on its own.

The second batch (the featured image) had tofu, beef broth, coconut milk, sweet potatoes, carrots, apples, enoki mushrooms, onions, tapioca flour, a readjustment of spices, mirin, and balsamic vinegar.  It wasn’t as good as the last one.  The potatoes and carrots were the only good parts.  The tofu texture and the flavor of the mushrooms ruined the batch.  Those were two ingredients I would not use again.

After that, I took a break from curry.  I’ll do something with a little less exotic ingredients next time.

 

Leave a Reply

