I found this website that lists many ways to cook tofu:  http://greatist.com/health/healthy-tofu-recipes

Needless to say, the list was amazing to look through.  The idea of tofu French toast sounded strange, yet doable, so I decided to give it a try.

This is the original recipe:  http://www.care2.com/greenliving/tofu-french-toast-recipe.html

Unlike what the recipe called for, I only used egg and vanilla extract.  The only four I had on me was tapioca flour, and I had no plans on using it for some time since the pancake incident.  I dipped the tofu in the mixture like you would with bread and pan fried them.  When they were done, I sprinkled cinnamon and drizzled maple syrup on it to complete the French toast look.

Like with the cumin tofu, the thicker slices retain the original tofu flavor.  The thinner ones, however, can almost pass as real French toast.  I cooked the leftover egg mixture and added nutmeg, but the spice was overpowering.  I later swapped the nutmeg for stevia, and it turned out slightly better.

This is a nice substitute for French toast, but even though it’s tasty, it’s not that filling.

Leave a Reply

