So…um…this was supposed to be gluten free fruit pulp pancakes.

I had the leftover raspberry/guava pulp leftover from the tea, so I looked around to see what I could do with it.  One idea that appealed to me was fruit pulp pancakes.  I found this and thought I could branch out from here:  http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-11057/use-leftover-juice-pulp-to-make-gluten-free-pancakes.html

I used around 2 cups of pulp, 2-3 cups tapioca flour, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, 1-2 eggs, 1/2-1 cup almond milk, and…the above image happened.

Gray, wet, rubbery, stretchy, and practically inedible.  Guess who’s not pitching new ideas to iHop?

I tried two of them, one with maple syrup.  The syrup didn’t help any, and my appetite was gone for several hours.  Even looking at this is making me lose my appetite.  This…mistake…would be right at home at an elementary school science project, but not in the kitchen.

What went wrong?  Was it the improvised measurements?  The pulp?  The tapioca flour?  Almond milk instead of water or normal milk?  Personally, I think it was the choice of using tapioca flour.  The fruit pulp was nice and red before adding the flour, then it turned gray.

Failures in “Cooking Experiments” were going to happen eventually, but I never thought it would be on this level.  To this day, this is the biggest failure in the kitchen yet.  It will be some time before I attempt any variation of the gluten free pancake.

So, experts in cooking, where did Nazo go wrong and how can it be avoided in the future?

Leave a Reply

