A quick word about my hunger:  it’s ravenous since I’ve started working out and eating gluten free.  The easiest solution was to simply eat more protein, but when I saw that I was eating five egg whites in addition to my two pieces of turkey bacon, I knew I was going to raise the grocery bill up.

As such, I started looking around online for ways to help quell this monstrous hunger.  I’ve added chili powder to eggs, added 1/2 grapefruit to my breakfast, added a little bit of dairy (not paleo, I know, but it’s still healthy fat that has vitamin D); nothing seemed to work.  I found this website and thought that tofu would be the new way to go:  http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/278340.php

Of course, I later found out that tofu is NOT paleo, and I dropped it altogether.  Before then, however, I got a few experiments in.

This is the original Cumin and Honey Tofu:  http://www.popsugar.com/fitness/Recipe-Baked-Tofu-7927710

Now, I didn’t have thyme, dill, or actual honey at the time.  Instead of honey, I used some packets of KFC’s honey spread leftover from work.  Instead of dicing it into cubes, I sliced the tofu into strips and I brushed the liquid mixture on them instead of drizzling them.

The thinner strips were a bit tough and tasted a bit burnt.  The thicker ones are softer, but retain their original tofu flavor.  Both versions were tasty, though, and this would make a good snack.  You could almost pass it for jerky.

Leave a Reply

