At the time of making this, I was craving pancakes.  I wanted to attempt to make my own gluten free pancakes, but I was also curious to see if I could make my own fruit flavored syrup.  I thought about what fruit flavor combination would work, and my gut told me guava and raspberry.  I looked up how to make syrup here:  http://www.howto-simplify.com/2010/09/tips-tricks-making-simple-fruit-syrup.html

I wanted to see if I could get away with using stevia instead of sugar.  It did not work.  Apparently, sugar has the properties needed to make syrup thick.  Stevia does not have such properties.

After straining the boiled down mixture, I found that the liquid portion made a surprisingly good tea.  Here’s what I did:

  • 1 Thai guava
  • 2 containers of 24 oz raspberries
  • 1 cup stevia
  1. Dice guava
  2. Get a large pot and add 2-4 cups water; bring to a boil
  3. Add raspberries and diced guava; bring the heat to low and let simmer for several minutes; until the raspberries have broken up
  4. Pour mixture through a strainer and into a pitcher.
  5. Add enough water to fill the pitcher completely and stir
  6. Serve hot or cold

Notes:  I didn’t have a strainer at the time, so I used the colander part of my steam pot.  I also didn’t think to use that same pot to cook the fruit down, so I used a small pot to make two separate batches.  These small batches included 1-2 cups water, 1/2 guava, and 12 oz raspberries.

In hindsight, I should have used less stevia; too sweet.  I like it best served hot, but my coworkers like it cold.  I shared it with them and one of them took a real liking to it; said that it “gave her the sugar boost she needed”.

I might have accidentally made a new energy drink instead of a tea.  Definitely needed less stevia.

Now, I had all this leftover fruit pulp afterwards.  What did I do with it?  I used it in the next Cooking Experiment, of course.

…And it was a disaster.

To be continued.

Leave a Reply

