So, I don’t really need the starch and carbs of potatoes, delicious as they are.  They also aren’t paleo-friendly, so out they go from my diet.  Nowadays, it seems to be a trend to replace potatoes with cauliflower in recipes, so I decided to give cauliflower hash browns a go.

To start off, buy a head of cauliflower and grate it yourself using a cheese grater.  It’s cheaper than buying already shredded cauliflower at Whole Foods or what have you.  My mother told me that cauliflower browns better when it doesn’t have so much moisture, so I get 1 cup of grated cauliflower, put it on two paper towels, wrap, and squeeze over the sink several times.

For the basic single serving of hash browns, I use 1 whole egg for each 1 cup of shredded cauliflower.  If you’re adding a bunch more ingredients, then add another egg or two.

I use olive oil for my pan and keep it at medium heat.  The mixture of cauliflower and egg is mushy, so once I pour it into the pan, I spread it out evenly with a spoon, then add seasonings.  You know you’re done when both sides are browned enough.

I’ve tried various seasonings and extra ingredients over time.  My favorites tend to be the ones with 1/8 cup of cheddar mixed in.  Italian spice and/or garlic salt have also worked for me as seasonings.  Diced yellow onion also seems to be a good choice.

Really, cauliflower hash browns are almost as versatile as omelettes (probably because of the eggs).  Go out and see what combinations of ingredients and spices you can come up with.

Leave a Reply

