Ever since I’ve read Jeff Smith’s “Bone”, I’ve been fascinated with the idea of quiche.  An egg pie?  What’s in it?  What is it about quiche that made that one Stupid, Stupid Rat Creature obsess over it to the point of it being a running gag?

Turns out you can do a lot with quiche.  Put whatever cheeses, put whatever meats, put whatever vegetables, put whatever crusts–.

Oh, wait.  I’m living gluten free now.  I can buy gluten free crusts, but the price wouldn’t be worth it, and I’ve heard they taste terrible.  I could make one, but I don’t have the time or the right gluten free flour to do so.  Can’t I make a quiche without the crust?

Turns out I can.  All I had to do oil the pan.  I followed the basic guideline to quiche building here:  https://www.preparedpantry.com/blog/make-quiche/

Holy cow!  Why aren’t there restaurants that use this idea?!  It could be like “build-your-own-pizza”, except with quiche!  “Would you like the normal crust, the gluten-free crust, or no crust at all?  What type of cheese would you like?  Okay, now which meats and vegetables?”  Someone needs to make this “build-a-quiche” restaurant idea into a reality!  Think of all the possible quiche combinations people could come up with!

…Ahem.  Here’s my crustless quiche:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1-1 1/2 cup crumbled queso fresco cheese
  • 6-7 pieces turkey bacon, cooked and torn
  • 1 cup fresh kale, torn
  • 1/2 cup asparagus, steamed
  • 1/2-1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt and pepper, each
  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. coat pie pan with olive oil
  3. mix all ingredients except cheese into a bowl and pour into the pan
  4. sprinkle cheese on top
  5. bake for around 35 minutes

I was originally going to use cheddar, but while I was shopping at the Asian farmer’s market, I saw they were passing out free samples of queso fresco.  I tried it and found it to be incredibly delicious.  I found myself thinking “I should use this for my quiche”, so I got a large piece and did just that.

The first batch was delicious, if a bit watery.  I think it was because I used 1 cup of almond milk.  I’ll try reducing that next time.  I used 1 cup of cheese instead of 1 1/2 because of the fat content.  It was good, but the flavor wasn’t strong enough.  Either I’ll add more cheese, more salt and pepper, or different spices.

 

 

Leave a Reply

